Where we work

Our activities focus primarily on the six countries of the East African Community (EAC). The EAC is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States: the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, and the Republic of Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. It is home to 177 million people, with a land area of 2.5 million square km and a combined GDP of US$ 193 billion (EAC Statistics for 2019).

The work of the EAC is guided by its Treaty, which mandates the Partner States to collaborate and deepen integration on political, economic, social and cultural dimensions with a view to improving the quality of life of the citizen. It is under this framework particularly Article 118 of the Treaty authorizes the Partner States to cooperate with eventual integration on Health. This how the EAC formed the Regional Centre of Excellence for Vaccines, Immunisation and Health supply Chain Management (EAC RCE-VIHSCM). The RCE works closely with the EAC Expanded Program for Immunisation (EPI), National Medical Stores, the National Drug Authorities and, the public universities and other SCM leaders to find innovative solutions to solve existing and emerging challenges to immunisation and health supply systems in the region.

At the same time, we draw on expertise from supply chain professionals outside of the EAC region, including the rest of Africa, the USA and Europe.

The (EAC) Regional Centre of Excellence for Vaccines, Immunisation and Health Supply Chain Management (RCE-VIHSCM) is one of four African Centres of Excellence (ACEs) housed at the University of Rwanda. Follow the link below to learn more about all UR centres.